Coordinated from within the Competence Center Industry and Service Innovations at the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (ISI) EMS is managed by a broad consortium of research institutes and universities from countries of and across Europe.

The consortium is made up of the following institutions:

Austria: Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT), Foresight & Policy Development Department, Vienna

Brazil: Department of Industrial Engineering, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Porto AlegrePR China: Institute of Policy and Management (IPM), Division of S&T Policy, Bejing

Croatia: University of Zagreb, Economic Faculty, University of Split, Technology Faculty

Czech Republic: Centre for Economic Studies (CES), University of Economics and Management, Prague

Denmark: University of Southern Denmark, Mads Clausen Institute and Institute for Marketing & Management, Sønderborg and Odense

Finland: VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

France: University of Lyon, IAE Lyon, France

Germany: Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (ISI), Karlsruhe

Great Britain: Leeds University Business School, University of Leeds

Italy: Institute of Industrial Technologies and Automation (ITIA-CNR), Milan

Netherlands: Nijmegen School of Management

Portugal: UNIDEMI - Research Unit in Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Faculty of Sciences and Technology, Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Russia: State University - Higher School of Economics, Institute for Statistical Studies and Economics of Knowledge (ISEK), Moskow

Slovenia: Maribor University, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

Spain: University of Girona, Polytechnics School, Department of Business Administration and Product Design

Sweden: University of Gävle, Jönköping University, Chalmers and Luleå University

Switzerland: Hochschule Luzern - Wirtschaft, Institut für Betriebs- und Regionalökonomie (IBR)