Sign In

FinnFusion Coordinator

FinnFusion Consortium

Fusion energy research and development is focusing on creating the first fusion nuclear reactor. The goal of the worldwide R&D programme with ITER is to create a fusion nuclear power plant in Europe. FinnFusion Consortium is fully integrated in the Euratom Fusion Programme in Horizon 2020. The present emphasis of the FinnFusion programme is the following:

  • Technology R&D for ITER construction and systems including industry contracts
  • Implementation of the "Fusion Roadmap to the Realization of Fusion Energy" as a member of the EUROfusion Consortium with projects focusing on tokamak experiments and modelling
  • Creating concepts for the next generation fusion power plant DEMO in Europe


Organigram of Finnish Fusion Research Community in 2015-2020.


VTT is a member of the EUROfusion consortium, which comprises 30 fusion research organisations and universities from 26 European member states plus Switzerland and Ukraine. The signatories of the FinnFusion consortium agreement are Aalto University, Fortum Corporation, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Tampere University of Technology, University of Helsinki, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd. (coordinator) and Åbo Akademi. Several companies, Tekes and Ministry of Employment and the Economy contribute to the activities of FinnFusion.